Don’t let Work Guy screw Home Guy over

1 minute read

A great man once said:

I never get enough sleep. I stay up late at night, cause I’m Night Guy. Night Guy wants to stay up late. ‘What about getting up after five hours sleep?’, oh that’s Morning Guy’s problem… That’s not my problem, I’m Night Guy – I stay up as late as I want! So you get up in the morning, you’re exhausted, groggy… oooh I hate that Night Guy!

See, Night Guy always screws Morning Guy. There’s nothing Morning Guy can do. The only Morning Guy can do is try and oversleep often enough so that Day Guy looses his job and Night Guy has no money to go out anymore.

Today, after tackling some annoying WCF issues at a late hour, I realized Work Guy and Home Guy have a very similar relationship.

When I’m at work , I stay to work late cause I’m Work Guy. I  want to track down that bug, I want to finish that piece of code, I want to get that test to pass, I want to study that interesting .NET topic a little further.

“What about getting home at 10:00 PM, missing the gym session you wanted to have, skipping that UFC title fight event you wanted to watch, and delaying that level you wanted to complete in your latest video game?”, oh that’s Home Guy’s problem – I’m Work Guy, I stay at work as late as I want!

So you get home late, and by the time you eat, shower, and write a small blog post you have to go to bed… ooh I hate that Work Guy ! It’s a good thing that by that time you’re already Night Guy, so you can stay up late 🙂

Leave a Comment